Key info

  • Tasmania has 29 councils, including 6 city councils. Each council is responsible for governing a municipal (council) area.
  • Councils are responsible for providing a range of community services and infrastructure including roads and bridges, parks and sportsgrounds, animal control, waste and recycling, planning, building and environmental services.
  • Every council provides different types of infrastructure and services because of differences in things like their communities' needs and expectations, land area, population, location, number of properties and industry mix.
Visit nowbutton_linkPlease visit the Department of Premier and Cabinet and select your council for more information on servicesTasmanian Government - Department of Premier and Cabinet Logo